NOTEBOOK: Digestive Enzymes

15 Jul

This is the first installment of what I’m going to coin “Notebook Posts”. Remember keeping lab notebooks in science classes of your experiments and detailing your method and results? This will be just like that except no one is grading me (phew!). I think this will be a helpful way to keep track of all the different things I’ve been trying to restore my health and wellness. I notice that when I read blogs from other patients they will chronicle their progress, but things tend to skip around without a thorough explanation of what’s going on. I hope this will help others as much as it will help me. I am having such a difficult time acknowledging and appreciating my own progress, so here is the first entry!

Title: Digestive Enzymes – Enzymedica Brand CarbGest/Digest Gold

After weeks of research, I settled on Enzymedica’s brand of digestive enzymes and I have been quite pleased with the results.

Introduction: Digestive enzymes are recommended for those with multiple food allergies and sensitives who likely have a diagnosis of leaky gut syndrome. The purpose is to help take the load off an already burdened system and give your gut less to do so it can focus on assimilating the nutrients instead of breaking them down. Enzymes that leak into the bloodstream via the leaky gut further help with “clean up”.

Method: I have been taking 1-2 CarbGest enzymes with fruit in the morning or with vegetables at lunch and dinner. I take 1-2 Digest Gold enzymes each time I have protein or fat at lunch, dinner, or snacks. The enzymes are taken prior to the meal and if I feel I need extra, I take an additional shortly after the meal.

Initiated: May 20, 2012

Duration: Ongoing

Conclusion: The enzymes are definitely helpful and I find I have difficulty tolerating food without them, however, I am suspecting that low HCl is part of the problem as well since I am still experiencing some symptoms of GERD on occasion. I like the Enzymedica brand because they were the only ones I could find that verified that the maltase was NOT derived from barley (gluten) and they have been readily available on the phone for questions and support. The capsules are vegetarian and don’t contain any “junk” in them. They are costly, but I have been able to snag bottles of 240 Digest Golds from Amazon at a good price regularly. For those with mold sensitivities be aware that the enzymes are cultured on aspergillus. This shouldn’t be a problem because the finished product contains no mold, but it is something to be mindful of.

The CarbGest is specifically targeted to people with phenol or salicylate sensitivities as it contains high amounts of xylanase. The Digest Spectrum is a good broad spectrum product that would be ideal for someone just starting out, but I have found my issues are just too severe and I need the heavy doses provided by Digest Gold and CarbGest.

Leave a Reply

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

The New Normal

Living Life With Chronic Disease

Be Healthy, Be Confident, Be Happy

This is my year and I am going to blog about it

Farm Food Blog

Eat well, live well...

Against All Grain

Delectable paleo recipes to eat & feel great

Mommypotamus

Is it possible to reverse the effects of an incurable chronic illness? We shall see...

Tiny Buddha

Is it possible to reverse the effects of an incurable chronic illness? We shall see...

NEWS! – Primal Body Primal Mind

Is it possible to reverse the effects of an incurable chronic illness? We shall see...

MTHFR.Net

Is it possible to reverse the effects of an incurable chronic illness? We shall see...

The Spunky Coconut

Is it possible to reverse the effects of an incurable chronic illness? We shall see...

a dietitian gone paleo

controlling IBS, SIBO, food intolerance and PCOS by eating real food

